This one is easy: “Net” is a statement of fact. “Let” is a determination of its outcome under the rules of tennis. Marty, right! And MOST OF THE TIME, the players can separate Fact from Fiction. thanks, george
A let in tennis is called when a server strikes the net with the ball on his/her service, and the ball lands in the opponent’s service box legally (i.e., in the service zone). The distinction from a fault is that for a fault, the ball either: – Strikes the net and doesn’t cross into the opponent’s court, remaining in the servers court.
In tennis, there are a variety of nuanced rules that may not be overly apparent when you’re first learning how to play.. One such rule is the ‘let,’ which you may have heard an umpire call after a player serves the ball when watching a professional tennis match.
Rules on Let Serves. The serve is a let if: The served ball touches the net, strap or band, and lands in the correct court. The served ball touches the net, strap or band and then touches the receiver, the receiver’s partner or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground. The ball is served when the receiver is not ready.
No, reaching over the net with your racket is not allowed in tennis. You need the ball to have reached your side of the court first. The only exception to this is if the ball lands on your side and either due to the spin on the ball or the wind, the ball bounces back over the net and onto the other side of the court. ITF Rules Of Tennis Rule 25b.
Mar 31, 2011. #2. When a serve hits the net and continues across it, it's a "net." All that means is that that serve won't count as a serve, one way or the other. Ordinary folks won't bother with calling "net," they'll wait to see if: --the ball lands within the correct service box, then it's a "let" and the serve (1st or 2nd) is replayed, or.
In all cases when a let is called, except when a service let is called on a second service, the whole point shall be replayed. USTA Friend at Court, ITF Rules of Tennis, Section 23. This rule specifies that the entire point is to be replayed when a let is called, with the exception of the service let.
If the ball rolled on the court during your service motion and a let was called, then the server is entitled to a first serve. However, the delay caused by clearing a ball between the first and second serve is not enough to warrant two serves (unless this time is prolonged). (USTA Code 30) For the "Friend at Court" handbook and more information ...